The Chapel of Rohuneeme Audiogiid huvitavat Viimsist
The chapel of Rohuneeme has an extremely fascinating history. The very first chapel was brought to Rohuneeme from the island of Aegna. In 1872 a chapel was built on the island, but soon after it gained popularity among people in Rohuneeme who sailed to the island to attend services in Aegna church. In the early 1920s a military base was established on the island, after which the chapel was taken apart and transported to Rohuneeme, where we can see it today. During the Soviet occupation the chapel was taken down as it was part of the border zone. During the 2000s the chapel was re-built with the help of locals. Today it is part of Viimsis Saint Jacobs church. Fact or fiction: A local lady managed to save the tower bell of the chuch by keeping it in her home throughout the Soviet period. When the chapel was reopened in the early 2000s she returned the bell and it hangs there now.